Archive for the ‘Institutional licences’ tag
As Roddy has nicely described here, the super-user account is aimed mostly at librarians and information professionals that support users in keeping up-to-date with new papers and need to make the process effortless and transparent for their users. Thus, the super-user account enables librarians to quickly implement a current awareness service on behalf of their busy users.
Here we explain one of the tools available for super-users that have not yet been fully described: “Managing Saved Searches”.
Using your Super-user Account
If you have a super-user account, upon login, you will notice that the list of options for your account includes at the top of that list the “Admin” option, as shown in the following image.
When you click on “Admin” you will access to the Admin Area. The following image shows the links and options available in the Admin Area. You will notice that in the left hand side of your screen, there are four links:
- Accounts: to list the accounts of your users
- Journals: to list the journals that your users are following
- Edit: to manage accounts and journals as well as manage alerts
- CSV: to generate and export your list of users and journals in Excel files
On the above image the accounts of all your users are listed. Clicking on the # Journals heading, the accounts are sorted by the number of journals they are following. At the bottom of the list there are two greyed-out accounts that correspond to users that have not yet confirmed their registrations (inactive accounts).
If you click the “Edit” link the system will display a page similar to the one shown below.
In addition to the four links mentioned above, here you will see an email icon which is a link to re-send activation emails to your users that have not yet acknowledged their new accounts, requesting them to confirm their registration with JournalTOCs. To be able to use their accounts, users need to be active or have confirmed their registration. If you want to save your users from confirming their registrations by themselves, you can confirm their registration on their behalf by clicking the AA link, which is in front of each account name (AA=Activate this Account) For example you could activate the account of User.Email6@yourdoamin.com.
Just in front of each account name, it can be up to four different icons. Each of them is a link to an action, as described below:
: To delete the account that is in front of the icon. The user account will be completely removed from JournalTOCs, including the journals that the user was following.
: This is the link to the “Managing Saved Searches” area and the main subject of this post. Its use is explained in the next section below.
: To re-send an email to an individual user requesting her/his registration confirmation.
AEA: This is the “Activate Email Alerts” link that you will use to enable a user to receive email alerts.
Managing saved searches for your users
In addition of being alerted on new articles published in the journals they are following, users can also create their own email alerts and RSS feeds based on their saved searches. However, some busy users do not have time to create and save search queries and to setup alerts for those queries. The super-user can use the “Managing Saved Searches” option to create saved searches and setup alerts for their busy users.
When you click on the “Managing Saved Searches” icon the system will display a screen similar to that shown below which is showing the saved searches for Some.User@hospital.nhs.uk
Here you will see that Some.User@hospital.nhs.uk has only one saved search for which she/he wants to receive email alerts. We also can see that Some.User@hospital.nhs.uk has recently searched for three different queries and then underneath it you will find a list with your own searches (the searches done from the super-user account). The reason why the system is also showing your search history is to give you the option to add your own searches to the saved searches of your users. This could be useful if you are doing searches on behalf of your users, so after you have done the search, then you can click on the relevant [Save] link to add your search to the saved searches of Some.User@hospital.nhs.uk.
It is advisable to make use of the [Delete] link to remove irrelevant search queries from your search history, so your list of searches doesn’t become too long and you don’t reach your limit of 200 search queries. Having a long list of searches also makes the system slow.
You can save up to 100 search queries per user. To remove a search from the list of saved searches, just click the relevant “Un-save” link. You also can click the “Stop Alert” link to deactivate email alerts for a specific saved search. Click on the RSS icon to generate an RSS feeds containing all the articles that in that moment are matching the specific search query.